The Boys in the Boat

Rowing.

The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat

Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others - and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is narrative non-fiction of the first order; a personal story full of lyricism and unexpected beauty that rises above the grand sweep of history, and captures instead the purest essence of what it means to be alive. 'The Boys in the Boat is not only a great and inspiring true story; it is a fascinating work of history' Nathaniel Philbrick, author of In the Heart of the Sea 'I really can't rave enough about this book . . . I read the last fifty pages with white knuckles, and the last twenty-five with tears in my eyes' David Laskin, author of The Children's Blizzard and The Long Way Home 'A thrilling, heart-thumping tale of a most remarkable band of rowing brothers' Timothy Egan, author of The Worst Hard Time

More Books:

The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 404
Authors: Daniel Brown
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014 - Publisher: Pan Books

Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the
The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 404
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher: Penguin

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. Reprint.
Study Guide: the Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown (SuperSummary)
Language: en
Pages: 41
Authors: SuperSummary
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-30 - Publisher:

SuperSummary, a modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, offers high-quality study guides for challenging works of literature. This 42-page guide for "The Boys in the Boat" by Daniel James Brown includes detailed chapter summaries and analysis covering 19 chapters, as well as several more in-depth sections of expert-written literary analysis.
The Boys In The Boat
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-06 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year, this is the bestselling story about a rowing team's quest for Olympic gold in Nazi Germany. Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-08 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true

Popular All Time

LEGO® Awesome Ideas
The LEGO® Ideas Book
The Big Book of Amazing LEGO Creations with Bricks You Already Have
Cedric The Shark Learns To Count
The Mason Jar Scientist
Balloonology
How to Draw Manga Chibis & Cute Critters
Big Book of Spy Stuff
Rosie Revere's Big Project Book for Bold Engineers
101 Bible Trivia Questions for Children
Iggy Peck's Big Project Book for Amazing Architects
Ancient Earth Journal: The Early Cretaceous
Wow in the World: Two Whats?! and a Wow! Think & Tinker Playbook
The Snow Queen (ILLUSTRATED EDITION)
The Printer's Devil
Coding Games in Scratch
Show-How Guides: Hair Braiding
Star Wars™ Character Encyclopedia

Recent Books: