When the Game Was Ours

With intimate, fly-on-the-wall detail, When the Game Was Ours transports readers to this electric era of basketball and reveals for the first time the inner workings of two players dead set on besting one another.

When the Game Was Ours

When the Game Was Ours

From the moment these two players took the court on opposing sides, they engaged in a fierce physical and psychological battle. Their uncommonly competitive relationship came to symbolize the most compelling rivalry in the NBA. These were the basketball epics of the 1980s — Celtics vs Lakers, East vs West, physical vs finesse, Old School vs Showtime, even white vs black. Each pushed the other to greatness — together Bird and Johnson collected eight NBA Championships, six MVP awards and helped save the floundering NBA at its most critical time. When it started they were bitter rivals, but along the way they became lifelong friends. With intimate, fly-on-the-wall detail, When the Game Was Ours transports readers to this electric era of basketball and reveals for the first time the inner workings of two players dead set on besting one another. From the heady days of trading championships to the darker days of injury and illness, we come to understand Larry’s obsessive devotion to winning and how his demons drove him on the court. We hear him talk with candor about playing through chronic pain and its truly exacting toll. In Magic we see a young, invincible star struggle with the sting of defeat, not just as a player but as a team leader. We are there the moment he learns he’s contracted HIV and hear in his own words how that devastating news impacted his relationships in basketball and beyond. But always, in both cases, we see them prevail. A compelling, up-close-and-personal portrait of basketball’s most inimitable duo, When the Game Was Ours is a reevaluation of three decades in counterpoint. It is also a rollicking ride through professional basketball’s best times.

More Books:

When the Game Was Ours
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Larry Bird, Earvin Johnson, Jackie MacMullan
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-11-04 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

From the moment these two players took the court on opposing sides, they engaged in a fierce physical and psychological battle. Their uncommonly competitive relationship came to symbolize the most compelling rivalry in the NBA. These were the basketball epics of the 1980s — Celtics vs Lakers, East vs West,
Bird Watching
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Larry Bird, Jackie MacMullan
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-09-01 - Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Larry Bird captured the imagination and admiration of basketball fans throughout his thirteen-year career with the Boston Celtics with his trademark style of creative, intelligent, exciting, and hard-nosed play. And then, last year in his rookie season as head coach of the Indiana Pacers, he infused the team with these
Bird Watching
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Larry Bird, Jackie MacMullan
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-12-14 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Larry Bird captured the imagination and admiration of basketball fans throughout his thirteen-year career with the Boston Celtics with his trademark style of creative, intelligent, exciting, and hard-nosed play. And then, last year in his rookie season as head coach of the Indiana Pacers, he infused the team with these
When The World Was Ours
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Liz Kessler
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-21 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. For readers of Private Peaceful, The Book Thief and Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl. Three friends. Two sides. One
Bird On Basketball
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: John Bischoff
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 1988-01-21 - Publisher: Da Capo Press

Larry Bird, the NBA's Most Valuable Player for the three years 1984–1986 and the Boston Celtics' star since 1979, shares his insights on one of America's favorite games. Now completely updated to include statistics and photographs from the 1987-88 season, Bird on Basketball puts fans right on the court. With

Popular All Time

Uncontrolled Spread
American Marxism
Wildland
How to Win Friends and Influence Enemies
For Such a Time as This
Imagined Communities
The Premonition: A Pandemic Story
American Happiness and Discontents
Fear
The Bidens
How to Be an Antiracist
Laptop from Hell
The Long Slide
The Dying Citizen
Blackout
A Vast Conspiracy
The Strategy of Denial
Resistance

Recent Books: