Women in White Coats

Documents the true stories of three pioneering women who defied Victorian-era boundaries to become the first women doctors, discussing how they banded together to support each other and advocate for women's health in a male-dominated field.

Women in White Coats

Women in White Coats

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases because they avoided receiving medical care. Examinations performed by male doctors were often demeaning and even painful. In addition, women faced stigma from illness--a diagnosis could greatly limit their ability to find husbands, jobs or be received in polite society. Motivated by personal loss and frustration over inadequate medical care, Elizabeth Blackwell, Lizzie Garret Anderson and Sophie Jex-Blake fought for a woman's place in the male-dominated medical field. For the first time ever, Women in White Coats tells the complete history of these three pioneering women who, despite countless obstacles, earned medical degrees and paved the way for other women to do the same. Though very different in personality and circumstance, together these women built women-run hospitals and teaching colleges--creating for the first time medical care for women by women. With gripping storytelling based on extensive research and access to archival documents, Women in White Coats tells the courageous history these women made by becoming doctors, detailing the boundaries they broke of gender and science to reshape how we receive medical care today.

More Books:

Women in White Coats
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Olivia Campbell
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-02 - Publisher: Park Row Books

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases
The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 3
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Archana Shrestha, Keia Hewitt, Kristin Yates
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-31 - Publisher: Independently Published

The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 3 gives you a chance to look into the lives of women doctors through their stories. From their personal and professional narratives, these women discuss their many roles at work and home. You'll get a glimpse of the journey into medicine that includes
The Chronicles of Women in White Coats
Language: en
Pages: 292
Authors: Amber Robins,, Kena Shah, Kena Shah Do, Natasha Sriraman, Mia Ben, Bande Virgil, Surabhi Batra, Alana Biggers, Angela Freehill, Charmaine Gregory, Peaesha Houston, Danielle Johnson, Julia Knarreborg, Yulia Johnson, Danielle Lombardi, Nina Lum, Alexandra Pinon, Maria Perez-Johnson, Liliana Rojas, Archana Shrestha, Kendra Segura
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-23 - Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Becoming a doctor is where the story begins for the authors of "The Chronicles of Women in White Coats". These twenty doctors give you a peek into their personal and professional lives while highlighting their roles as mothers, wives, caregivers, daughters, best friends, and so much more. From stories of
Women in White Coats
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Olivia Campbell
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-03-15 - Publisher: Park Row Books

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases
The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 2
Language: en
Pages: 194
Authors: Archana Shrestha, Tameka Blake, Kimberly Brown
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-29 - Publisher:

The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 2 gives you an up close and personal view of what it is like to be a female doctor in America. From being a healthcare worker on the front lines to carrying the roles of mothers, wives, sisters, daughters and friends, these 10

Popular All Time

Project Hail Mary
Monster Tamer: Volume 5
A Court of Wings and Ruin
Moon-Crossed Wolves Trilogy
A Court of Silver Flames
A Court of Thorns and Roses
A Court of Mist and Fury
A Court of Frost and Starlight
The Eye of the World
So You Had to Build a Time Machine
The Gospel of Loki
Facing Destiny
Rift: The Complete Rift Saga: Books 1-3
Facing Destiny
Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?, Vol. 16 (light novel)
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
The Dragon Reborn
The Shadow Rising

Recent Books: